Microsoft Copilot for Business Trial Is Now Available
Microsoft Copilot for Business Trial Is Now Available Before you
🇺🇸 US CSP Partner, serving US-based organizations
Service Hours: M – F | 8 AM – 5 PM CST 📞 (833) 448-3684
Get 3% OFF¹ Code:

The digitalization of the workplace and adoption of the cloud has brought numerous benefits for organizations. However, there is one thing leaders should keep in mind when it comes to protecting your organization’s assets. In this article we will talk about the steps you should take to secure organizational data when an employee leaves your organization, and how to allow other employees to access email and OneDrive data.
*Note: You need to be a global administrator to complete the following steps. You will also be using these Microsoft 365 capabilities and features:
Although the following steps are numbered, it is not required that you complete the solution in this exact order. However, Microsoft and our Microsoft experts recommend following the order in which they are listed below.
This helps prevent the person from logging in and accessing your Microsoft 365 services.
The person who is taking over the former employee’s position will benefit from this. This is also helpful in case there is litigation.
This removes your organizational data from their phone/tablet.
If you have customers/partners still sending emails to this former employee’s address, this keeps the email address active and forwards those emails to the person taking over their job.
After you remove the user’s license (but don’t delete the account), the content in this user’s OneDrive is retained for 30 days after the removal.
Before deleting the account, you should give access to their OneDrive and Outlook to another active user. During those 30 days, you can restore the user’s account and gain access to their content. If you restore the user’s account, the OneDrive and Outlook content will remain accessible to you even after 30 days.
When removing a license, you have the option to assign it to someone else, or to delete it so you don’t pay for it until a new hire comes. Again, when removing or deleting a license, the user’s old email, contacts, and calendar are retained for 30 days, then permanently deleted. If you remove the license but don’t delete the account, the content will remain accessible, even after 30 days.
*Note: The customer may or may not be able to delete the license, depending on their commitment and cancellation window.
This removes the account from your admin center to keep things clean.
*Note: Each step title has a link to the Microsoft document that explains fully how to complete the actions needed for that step.
For further information or assistance with your licenses management, do not hesitate to contact us today. Our Microsoft licensing experts are happy to help.
Microsoft Licensing news, articles, and tips for Microsoft 365, Microsoft Business Software, Azure, and seat-based offers, such as Dynamics 365 and Windows 365
Microsoft Copilot for Business Trial Is Now Available Before you
Navigating Microsoft Intune licensing can be confusing — especially with options like Plan 1, Plan 2, the Intune Suite, and device-only licenses. This comprehensive guide breaks down each plan, pricing, included features, and who each is best for. We also explain Frontline Worker limitations, licensing for Configuration Manager, and how to avoid paying for more than you need. Whether you’re managing users or devices, this post will help you make the smartest licensing decision for your business.
Get more with Microsoft 365 Business Premium Table of Contents
We use cookies to enhance your browsing experience, serve personalised ads or content, and analyse our traffic. By clicking "Accept All", you consent to our use of cookies.
Manage your cookie preferences below:
Essential cookies enable basic functions and are necessary for the proper function of the website.
These cookies are needed for adding comments on this website.
Google reCAPTCHA helps protect websites from spam and abuse by verifying user interactions through challenges.
Statistics cookies collect information anonymously. This information helps us understand how visitors use our website.
Google Analytics is a powerful tool that tracks and analyzes website traffic for informed marketing decisions.
Service URL: policies.google.com (opens in a new window)
SourceBuster is used by WooCommerce for order attribution based on user source.
Marketing cookies are used to follow visitors to websites. The intention is to show ads that are relevant and engaging to the individual user.
Facebook Pixel is a web analytics service that tracks and reports website traffic.
Service URL: www.facebook.com (opens in a new window)
You can find more information in our Cookie Policy and Privacy Policy.